Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Stem and humanities major splitter

stemsplitterstemsplitter Free Trial Member
edited May 2019 in Law School Admissions 16 karma

Hello! I know there are a TON OF posts about this topic but I just wanted to see if anyone has any opinions/gotten into law school with the similar circumstances.

I have a dual degree in Cell biology and Women’s studies and ended up with a 2.8 cumulative gpa. If I removed all of my science classes, my gpa would be about aBout a 3.8 (not sure if this matters at all). Since graduating, I have been working for a large medical device company in quality on a large project. By the time I apply, I would have been in the industry for 2 years. I eventually want to get into patent/intellectual property law. I am retaking the lsat again this fall and am aiming for ~165 + .

Has anyone else gotten into a good school with a low gpa, a better than average lsat and work experience?

Are there certain schools that really value work experience?

All opinions are appreciated! Thank you!

Comments

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    23929 karma

What do you mean when you say “good” school? Like a T14? Yes. You’ll be a super splitter, but with a high enough LSAT >75th%tile you’ll have at least a shot at some great schools. Apply early and broadly because splitter cycles are highly unpredictable.

I know Northwestern seems relatively kind to splitters and put a heavy emphasis on work experience.

Good luck!

• PrincessPrincess Alum Member
    821 karma