Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Misreading LSAT Questions

Matthew LLCMatthew LLC Free Trial Member
in General 114 karma
So I did some serious BR review and noticed that during practice (both timed and untimed) I misread the question, sometimes multiple times, before ultimately getting the question wrong out of my inability to understand the stimulus. Is there anything specific I can do to tighten my understanding of these questions? I've been studying for a few months now, so I don't know if continual drilling is improving carefulness.

Thanks.

Comments

• jdawg113jdawg113 Alum Inactive ⭐
    2654 karma
    Would really say just keep going at it untimed, take your time to really break down each stimulus as you go and sort out the context, premise and conclusions. If you are misreading I would think you are going too fast and/or not recognizing the different parts of the stim
  • kclubs323kclubs323 Alum Member Inactive ⭐
    275 karma
    If you're misreading the question stem, then you may not have a solid grasp of what your task is and how you are supposed to complete the task. Assuming that you've completed the course, you may want to revisit the lessons going over each question type to confirm your understanding of the different question types and how you're supposed to tackle them.
    This video may also be helpful for you:
    http://7sage.com/lesson/lr-question-stem-grouped-by-direction-of-support/
  • JustDoItJustDoIt Alum Member
    edited March 2015 3112 karma
    When I approach a question untimed, it really helps me if I am relaxed and composed before I try and attack it. Then when I do, I try and remember some of the key parts of the lessons, such as negating answer choices for NA questions. Also, during untimed, I try and get in between the premise and the conclusion as much as possible in order to try exploit the flaw or whatever else the question is asking