Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LR not improving anymore

akitagogoakitagogo Alum Member
edited September 2019 in Logical Reasoning 89 karma

I started studying for the LSAT in May with about 7 wrong on per LR section, and 10 wrong on RC, and 7 for LG. My scores became consistent in the lower 160s since late June. Now I'm in the mid160s, with RC and LG visibly improving, but LR unchanged (5-7 wrong per section). I finished 7Sage CC in August, and really liked the courses. But it seems that my LR skills haven't improved at all? I'm shocked to learn that, but I only have about 4 weeks left for my first LSAT. I'm considering postponing the test, because I don't think I can hit the 170s within the next month...
I have looked through earlier posts on similar issue, but haven't seen a similar situation. Any advice, experience and good tips would be much appreciated! Should I go back to the LR CC? Should I look for a tutor, etc..?
(I have read the LSAT trainer, Manhattan prep LR, but haven't done any drilling for LR. I always have 2-3 wrong per section due to mis-reading: simply pressed for time, trying to read faster.)

Comments

• AudaciousRedAudaciousRed Alum Member
    2689 karma

LR is definitely a section where you need to drill it over and over. Over time, you start seeing the patterns used in trap answers. You don't have to read faster; your goal should be to be able to answer faster. And that only comes with drilling, practice, and studying the problems in depth to recognize which answers are right and which answers are wrong and knowing why they are that way. Also, you need a good skipping strategy. If you run into an LR question that you know is going to be a time sink for you, skip it and come back to it later.
    Good luck on your test! Mid to high 160's is pretty awesome. Are you going T-14 or bust?

• akitagogoakitagogo Alum Member
    89 karma

@AudaciousRed said: