Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

171--Retake or Not?

karenliulbjkarenliulbj Alum Member
in General 28 karma

First of all I want to thank 7Sage and 7Sagers for the incredible help they offered in this long, rewarding journey. My October LSAT score (171) is very satisfactory and I am grateful for that. I have a degree GPA of 3.80, with a cumulative GPA of 3.88 (I transferred after my second year). My GPA might look better to admissions than the number itself, because it comes from one of the most academically challenging institutions.

So such are the numbers I am facing now. Before the score was released, I was constantly preparing and my score is in the range of 171-174, mostly 173. But I PTed yesterday and today, getting 170 and 171, respectively. I think I might have reached my ceiling? Yet I cannot shake off my aspiration that I might get lucky on the exam day and maybe hit 173 or 174? Plus, I would be blaming myself for a long time if I don't try until the last effort and have to live in the life of "what if". I think getting a 173 would give me a much better shot at HYS? I am pretty positive that I would not score over 174, the possibility of that is close to zero.

So my question would be that will a score like 170 or 169 look really bad in the retake? Is it realistic for me to shoot for a 173? I have cancelled September, and I really don't want to cancel again. In short, is the risk worth it? Thank you guys so much, any suggestion is welcomed!

Comments

• edited November 2019 232 karma