Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Suggestions and/or Encouragement Please..........

I am able to recognize premise, conclusions and the approach to classify the inference family LR. However, when I see the questions I freak out and get totally lost. All the answer choices look alike. It is hard to decipher the correct answer and I give up. Help................. !!!!!!!!!!!!!! . Please and Thank you.

Comments

• miriaml7miriaml7 Live Member
    edited February 2020 1016 karma

Hey! I'm actually in the same situation right now. My game plan is to go back through the CC and get reacquainted with each of the question types. If you want to work together to hold each other accountable feel free to DM me. We got this!!

• ilovethelsatilovethelsat Member
    348 karma

I'm by no means an expert on this, but one thing I've noticed about LR question types is that the best approach is to have an intuitive/holistic understanding of what the question is asking you to do. I think a lot of people get caught up in the whole robotic process of labeling a question and then following a set of very specific steps, and that can be problematic because not all questions fit neatly into a certain label. So when they encounter a question that isn't the "perfect MBT" or the "perfect Strengthen," etc., they freak out. Obviously, labeling question types is immensely helpful in determining how to read the stimulus, what to look for, which answer choice gets the job done, etc., so you should still definitely do that, but the question stems are all pretty straightforward, even if they don't fit neatly into a box. So just read the question stem, intuitively understand what it's asking you to do, and then do the thing that it's asking you to do. For example, a question stem might ask you "Which of the following exhibits both of the logical flaws exhibited in the argument above?" This is a parallel flaw, but even if that labe