Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Diagramming Unless, Except issue

dlstudy1dlstudy1 Alum Member

Can someone help diagram the question below? I'm having a lot of trouble wrapping my head around it.

Manuscripts written by the first time authors generally do not get serious attention by publishers except when these authors happen to be celebrities. My manuscript is unlikely to be taken seriously by the publishers for I am a first time author who is not a celeb.

I diagrammed "except" the same way I would diagram "unless".

not CELEB --> FIRST TIME AU OR not SERIOUS ATTN

When I looked this up, the CORRECT diagram was:

not CELEB --> not FIRST TIME AU OR not SERIOUS ATTN

My first question, Why is it: not FIRST TIME AU?

Second, I'm having trouble diagramming the parallel argument below for the same reasons:

"Fruit salad that contains bananas is ordinarily a boring dish unless it contains two or more exotic fruits. This fruit salad has bands in it, and the only exotic fruit is a guava."

I diagrammed this as follows:

not TWO OR MORE --> contains bananas OR boring

But the correct way to diagram it is:

not TWO OR MORE --> not contains bananas OR boring

Why?

Comments

• taschasptaschasp Alum Member Sage
    796 karma

I think the way you tried to diagram it is misleading. We are talking about a category of first time authors (FA) here. So, for all FA:

/C -> /SA

If you want to include FA into the conditional, you'd have to say,

/C -> /SA OR /FA

Why? Well, let's think about it.