Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Newcomer looking for advice. I want to reach a score of 175-180.

PatrickMilone7PatrickMilone7 Yearly Member
in General 13 karma

Hello!

I am new to 7Sage. I am a sophomore, and I am looking to get a score of 175-180. Any suggestions in terms of studying?

Comments

• taschasptaschasp Alum Member Sage
    796 karma

Hey @PatrickM7, have you taken a diagnostic? If not, you can take on on Khan Academy for free: https://www.khanacademy.org/prep/lsat/intro

That's a good first way to gauge how much work it's going to be to get to a 175-180. The best way to study depends a lot on both your diagnostic and your learning style. Are you more comfortable with self studying, or do you feel like you need something more hands-on (like a tutor or course)?

Either way, you'll want some way to cover the fundamentals (e.g. going through the CC on 7sage, using prep books, etc.), and then do lots of practice tests with solid review. In my own journey to score a 179, I found that the reviewing part was the most important. You can do loads of practice and it means very little if you don't challenge yourself to work through harder problems on your own and try your best to figure them out, and internalize lessons for future questions.

But, that's all a ways ahead. You should start with taking a diagnostic and figuring out what would be best for you to get through the fundamentals. I'm sure everyone on here will tell you that 7sage is a fantastic resource for that (it was for me when I was studying!), if you're willing to sign up for a subscription.

• taschasptaschasp Alum Member Sage
    796 karma

Also, I err on the side of excessive optimism, and I'd be a hypocrite to dissuade anyone from aiming for 175+, so I won't do that--and I'm sure you've done your research into the odds of scoring that high--but just know, it's no easy feat.