Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Transfer GPA Predicament

Hi fellow future/current lawyers! I am having a hard time weighing my overall gpa. My first two years, at my first institution, my gpa is pretty low to be honest. But my last two years a solid Big Ten school is much better. Will my second transcript be weighed significantly more or will the averaged gpa be the main thing schools look at?

Comments

• MIT_2017MIT_2017 Alum Member
    470 karma

My understanding is that the overall average will hold the most weight, as that is what will ultimately be considered by USNWR rankings.

• SSBM1000SSBM1000 Member
    614 karma

As a transfer student myself, I can confirm that your cumulative GPA between both of your schools will be your LSAC GPA. They don't weigh any school's GPA more than the other when calculating it.

• bbrightman10bbrightman10 Member
    27 karma

Thanks for the responses. But will schools themselves weigh the second GPA in evaluating my application's fitness, or will they mostly care about the rankings?

• hopefullinghopefulling Member
    edited July 2020 905 karma

The Academic Summary Report shows the GPA broken down for each year that you were in undergrad, also showing the institution. I transferred also, after the first year. My first school has an LSAT mean to compare to, but my 2nd school doesn't (engineering school, so not so many people take the LSAT after that :p). The summary shows the GPA and semester hours for each of the years and then also as an overall total. It even charts out how many credit hours per each letter grade we earned that year. So, they will see a breakdown of your first school's achievement, but can also see your 2nd school's achievement also, together with an overall GPA. It might look good, that you turned around your GPA after you transferred (maybe include it in your personal statement or as a separate addendum).