Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Substitution Effects in LG

Can someone please explain to me how I should map out the substitution for rules questions in LG? The questions where it asks you how would substituting this rule for another rule have the same effect on the board is something that isn't clicking with me.

Comments

• MartianmanMartianman Core Member
    211 karma

I am by no means a LG expert but I approach these intuitively as kind of an elimination, read the proposed substitution rule and check if it allows anything to happen differently, eliminate it if it does. My $0.02

• kkole444kkole444 Alum Member
    edited March 2021 1687 karma

hello, @"Timmy Is an Avg Kid that No One Understands" PT84 S4 Q17 is where I pulling this example from.
    SPOILER FOR PT 84 S4 Q17
    for example: question 17 wants us to find a rule that has the exact same implications as the rule: “K cannot be nominated as councilor”

So with the original set of rules, there is X number of different possible game boards. The Correct answer to Q 17, will keep the exact same layouts of the game boards and at the same time, keep the same number of games boards that the original set of rules gave us.
    So we want to find a rule that will replace “K cannot be nominated as councilor” and yet keep the number of game boards and at the same time, keep the same layout of the game boards as the original rules gave us.

Answer choice E does just that.

To really drive this point home, redo this game and create every possible game board(I think there are 10), and then cross off the rule “K cannot be councilor” from the original rule list and replace it with “if K is a nominee, then K is a nominee for mayor” and then solve for all possible game boards, you will get the exact same layout of the game boards and the exact same amount of game boards.