Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Experiences, Advice, Reflections: 149 -> 169

WishingOnAStarWishingOnAStar Alum Member
edited September 2021 in General 83 karma

Dear friends,

I want to provide hope to others starting with scores in the 140s. This has been said often, and I want to repeat it here because it is true:

You. Can. Beat. This. Test.

I won't go into my full journey, but a bit about me:
- I'm a woman from a very poor rural background and am first gen.
- I graduated from university about 4-7 years ago and have done full-time white collar work since.
- I studied for this exam sporadically and collectively for more than a year, largely in the mornings before work.
- I took the LSAT multiple times.

Potentially helpful thoughts and advice:
- If you're struggling to decide whether you should keep studying, ask yourself this: Is there something CONCRETE that I know I can improve upon? If so, keep going and drilling if you have the resources to do so (As a side note, I have areas I know I could improve upon still to get an even better score. On the most recent test day, I fell into an old bad habit that I thought I eliminated with practice. If I weren't so exhausted from studying and working... I might even try a fourth time to get into the 175+ range).
- Logic Games: Do all of the sections available to you over and over again until you perfect them under 35-minute timed conditions. Watch the 7Sage videos. Figure out what ends up being a time suck for you and nix it. But keep doing them until you can do them all without missing a single question.
- Logical Reasoning: Truly understand the connection between a premise and a conclusion. Watch videos on logic. No need to read anything in-depth about formal logic, as the basic ideas are relatively simple.