Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LSAT is torturing me (burnout) ;-;

farahbi0farahbi0 Core Member
in General 19 karma

Hi guys,

I am in a bit of a pickle. For whatever reason, I cannot study LSAT anymore. I can't focus, and I feel like studying is torture.
I took a week break (by break I mean that I was studying a lot less, I think I studied 2/7 days for 2 hours a day). I still am having an incredibly hard time.

Prior to this, and probably the reason for my burnout, I was studying 3-5 hours a day after working. I would also have my LSAT Prep class twice a week, and once a week I would take an exam. I did this for 2.5 months straight with a few days of rest here and there.

Do you guys have any tips for how I can get my motivation back? Or any words of reassurance? I am trying my hardest, but I cannot be productive anymore. It is really worrying me, as I feel behind. My first LSAT is in August, and I want to take another one in December.

Thank you so much in advance!
Farahbi

Comments

• yuzhou_guoyuzhou_guo Core Member
    41 karma

it is hard. i understand that. what works for me is that you need to remind yourself why you want to be a lawyer at the first place and let that motivate you to study!
    hope it can help! i am taking the lsat in august too!

• Matt SorrMatt Sorr Alum Member
    2245 karma

Sometimes focusing on a particular section/question-type for a day or two and seeing improvement helps to motivate me. Additionally, I often try to reframe my mindset for each section to help with burnout. For LG and LR, I find it fun to sometimes think of them as stress-free games. LG is like a puzzle and LR is like a flaw-finder game. For RC, going into the passage with the mindset that you're going to learn something new about a topic you know nothing about motivates me.

• Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27878 karma