Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Hope for Those That Need Some Right Now

Hopeful16-1Hopeful16-1 Alum Member
in General 69 karma

I'm currently a 3L at one of the Canadian law schools (which I will keep anonymous) and was feeling anxious about the uncertainty of articling that lies ahead. I came back to 7sage to scroll to take gain some perspective and remind myself of where I started and to remind myself that things do work out and they will be okay. This rings true even for those in law school. However, I saw some forums that reminded me of how I felt when studying to get into law school and I hope my experience can help bring some encouragement to someone!

To provide some context, I was admitted into my current law school in 2021 but before that I studied for the LSAT for 4 years. I was working full-time (a typical eight hour job) and was studying full-time. I had almost given up since I had taken the LSAT almost 4 times (this was before the cap was reinstated). By the last attempt, I was so burnt out, bitter, annoyed, frustrated and just overall upset. I didn't want to study anymore and almost called it quits. Hearing about law school or even seeing TV shows about the law made me feel ill and just reminded me of how disappointed I was with my studying at that point. I will not sugarcoat it, studying for this exam was absolutely brutal and it's definitely not for the faint of heart. Given how fed up I was with this exam, I called it quits and essentially just did the last attempt for the sake of doing it (I had stopped studying for it weeks before and just started reviewing). Trust, even reviewing for this exam was like pulling teeth, my motivation was that dried out and tired. Funnily enough, that last attempt ended up being my best score (159) and I was so surprised. For myself, I realized part of the obstacle was me. I had borderline idolized this exam and it was only until I learned to