Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Do law schools care about where you went for undergrad?

femininomenonfemininomenon Core Member
edited June 7 in Law School Admissions 9 karma

When I was a teenager, my parents said they would only financially assist me if I attended one of the 3 bible colleges owned by our religion. Well, I got rejected from 2/3. The one I went to has a 95% acceptance rate. I think it's rather implied that if a college has a 95% acceptance rate, their curriculum is probably not that rigorous or challenging. I graduated with a 3.96 GPA, magna cum laude, full scholarship, and regret attending there everyday for numerous reasons and also because I am no longer a part of that religion.

Will T14 or T20 law schools care about where I went? I know everyone says GPA and LSAT are the two most important pieces of your application, and although I have a high GPA, I'm trying to get a really high LSAT score to compensate for the fact that I attended a college with a 95% acceptance rate, but is this something I should worry about? I really am quite insecure about it.

Edit: It is an accredited college by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

Comments

• aalyriannasaalyriannas Live Member
    2 karma

No. The school you went to for undergrad does not matter. Its all about the work you put in.

• rlq209rlq209 Live Member
    1 karma

Do law schools prefer in-house students who attended undergraduate at their establishment?

• GNA451--GNA451-- Core Member
    69 karma

I'm not an expert here, but I think the conventional wisdom is that it's not a major factor in admissions. The cynical / reductionist reason is that there's no extra weighting for strength of undergraduate institution for incoming class in the US News and World rankings of law schools so it doesn't "help" law schools with their ranking to admit folks from more prestigious undergrads.