Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Acceptable First PT Score?

Mike StoneMike Stone Member
in General 111 karma
Just got a 144, blind review 151 on my first ever PT (June 2007). I've only been studying for about 2 months, and I'm not very far into the course. Thus, I know my score will naturally improve by December or Feb when I take it for real.

However, that score is absolutely terrible, obviously, and I'm more than a little bit scared. Would love to hear from some other fellas and ladies; where did you guys start out when you just began studying? Is 144/151 a normal PT for my stage of the game? My goal is roughly 160 or higher for the schools that interest me. Fully aware that I'm not T14 material, but I also am not going to go to some scrub school just so I can say I have a law degree. I'm striving for slightly above average, which means improving approx 15-20 points. Is this realistic???

Sweating this....

Comments

• nicole.hopkinsnicole.hopkins Inactive Sage Inactive ⭐
    7965 karma
    @"Mike Stone" said:
    I've only been studying for about 2 months, and I'm not very far into the course.
    Well, it sounds like you didn't take a true diagnostic. Diagnostics are meant to be taken cold, with zero prep or prior exposure to the LSAT. So the advice we give you is probably going to be based on our diagnostic scores—and thus it's going to be a bit of an apples and oranges comparison to the score you're citing above.

It's taken me a year to improve 20+ points over my 152 diagnostic with anything resembling consistency. If you're looking for a 15-20 point increase by December, it depends on where you're at in your prep. Sure, it's possible. But I would not be discouraged if it does not happen in this short period of time.