Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LoRs for Old People

Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
So I finished undergrad in ’08, which by the way was a really shitty time to graduate, lol. Anyway. So I haven’t worked with my professors in a long long time and I’m not sure how valuable those letters would be. I also feel a little uncomfortable asking someone to vouch for me who I haven’t worked with for the better part of a decade. At best, all those letters can truthfully say is, “he was a great student ten years ago." I can get great professional letters all day long, but I’ve been doing the same work since I graduated and it’s nothing so impressive that I want multiples. So, I’m really not sure what to do.

Comments

• BruiserWoodsBruiserWoods Member Inactive ⭐
    1706 karma
    following
  • SprinklesSprinkles Alum Member
    11542 karma
    Hey Gramps (jk lol)

On a serious note, this is actually really tough. I attended the Ask Me Anything Webinar offered by 7sage/Spivey Consulting and the scenario of asking for LORs from professors from long ago was brought up. To my surprise, the hosts (who are former admission committee members from HYS) said academic letters are highly preferred over working letters and that's even for those who graduated long ago. They said it's going to be awkward to ask after such a long time but the value it holds on your application vs a working letter is immeasurable. Long story short, I think an academic letter is what you'll need anyway. I think providing your potential reccomendor with your resume will be helpful with the process. It gives them insight to who you are what you've done so they can write more in depth.
    11542 karma
    I believe that Webinar was recorded so do take a listen if you'd like!
  • Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27822 karma