Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Do I need a new LoR?

Rachel YoonRachel Yoon Member
edited September 2016 in Law School Admissions 173 karma
Hello! I studied LSAT 3 years ago, then I thought it was premature, so I went to a grad school.
I took 2013,December LSAT and at the time I received two LoRs from my undergrad professors, didn't apply. They are still in my LSAC account.

Now I am taking September LSAT. Do I need a new LoR to apply for 2017 or can I just use those ones I already have?

Thank you guys in advance!
Good luck for everyone!

Comments

• SprinklesSprinkles Alum Member
    11542 karma
    You don't need new ones.
  • Nanchito-1-1Nanchito-1-1 Alum Member
    1762 karma
    Nope=)
  • Rachel YoonRachel Yoon Member
    173 karma
    @montaha.rizeq @nanchito Thanks a lot guys! :D
    11542 karma
    Welcome!
  • David BusisDavid Busis Member Moderator
    7293 karma
    Although you don't need new letters, it wouldn't be a bad idea to ask your professors to update their letters. It's not a heavy lift for the recommenders—they'd only need to tweak a few sentences, or even a few words—and it would look a bit better.
  • I just emailed a law school admissions office about this exact same thing! They said that they understand some students have been out of school for a few years and that professors may have previously written LORs for law school. I would recommend contacting the admissions offices of the law schools you're interested in, though, just to make sure.
  • Rachel YoonRachel Yoon Member
    173 karma
    @david.busis @"Lauren L" seems like a good idea. Thank you :)
  • DEC_LSATDEC_LSAT Alum Member
    760 karma
    do american students apply via lsac? i am so confused because as a canadian who wants to get into a school in ontario we use OLSAS. I am wondering if OLSAS keeps LoR on file for an extended period of time
    11542 karma
    @"Nina_Lucas" said: