Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advice needed for June Test

TimLSAT180TimLSAT180 Alum Member
in General 619 karma

Hi, I've been studying for the LSAT for about 5 months in total now and I'm preparing to take the June test. I'm aiming for a 170 and I just took a preptest (PT44) and got a 160 timed score with a 172 BR score. I don't know what is going on with me during the timed test, but I feel like my fundamentals are fine at this point. I feel a little discouraged and would appreciate any suggestions! My score break down was RC -12, LR -12, LG -0. I feel like RC being the first section threw me off because I didn't do any warm-ups before taking the PT, but during BR, I was able to bring my RC down to -1 and LR down to -6. Should I just keep reviewing and taking PTs until test day?

Comments

• akistotleakistotle Member 🍌🍌
    9377 karma

I'm in a similar position as yours. My BR scores have been 170+ for a while but my actual score is fluctuates around high 150 to low 160s. LG is my strongest section (always -0 to -2). My score hasn't reached high 160s, but I think I can give you some of the advice I got from high scorers.

I was advised that low-170s BR scores show that there are room for improvement in fundamentals and that I should work on increasing BR scores to 175+. I was also advised to refrain from taking too many PTs because it only tires me.

Have you ever recorded yourself doing PTs? I highly recommend this because you can see how much time you are spending on each question and analyze what you have to do under timed conditions. I've recorded myself during the last PT (with iPhone and this: https://www.amazon.com/BESTEK-Holder-Gooseneck-iPhone-Phones/dp/B00JK70KUY), and I am still trying to come up with my own timing strategy. By watching yourself doing PT, you will know when to skip on your next PT.

@TimLSAT180 said: