Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LSAT the game of exposure.

LSATcantwinLSATcantwin Alum Member Sage
in General 13286 karma

Something I've begun to notice during my studies; is that the LSAT is as much a test of exposure as it is a test of logic and reading capabilities. While learning the core concepts and ideas behind the test are essential to success I am here to argue that exposure is just as important. For a long time my score had been stagnant. I was stuck and not able to move no matter how many times I revisited the CC/Books/Whatever. I thought that my fundamental understanding of the test was flawed and the only way to improve was to redo lessons and try and remember the strategies. This was not working for me.

Recently (The past 3-4 weeks) I changed the way I am studying. I am bombarding myself with timed sections. With this new method I began to gain a new sense of familiarity with the LSAT. Logical Reasoning became a section that I could predict, Logic Games were games I had seen before with slight variations, and Reading Comp...well I haven't put the same effort into. This is what broke the wall for my score. After being stuck for an extremely long time, my score increased. Not only has it increased, but it has increased consistently per section.

This is something I feel gets over looked a lot on the LSAT. People get caught up in the theory, concepts, and core ideas but never expose themselves to the test in any real significant manner. Familiarity, as I have come to learn, is as important for a solid LSAT score as the basics. Feeling comfortable going into a section because you know it will be "just like before" is enough to give you confidence. With this boost your brain is put at ease and you are able to now draw upon your toolbox of methods much more effectively.