Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LSAT Plateau

mel_emm8mel_emm8 Free Trial Member
in General 39 karma

I started studying for the September LSAT in May while working 40hrs a week (which I will be doing until the end of August). I feel like I've plateaued with my last 4 tests - 162+/- 1pt and as much as I drill logic reasoning (I average -5 per section), it seems like I always get the same number of questions right. Also, when I drill the question types I have problems with and time myself doing so, I get about 90% of them right.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Would it be better to do a mix of drilling and timed sections instead of full prep tests? Would anyone recommend taking a break? I'm not really sure what to do.

Seriously freaking out because my goal is a 165 and it feels like the September test is really creeping up!

Comments

• LSATcantwinLSATcantwin Alum Member Sage
    edited July 2017 13286 karma

You are me about a month ago. Three major changes helped me break through it.

The first was drilling, even though I was getting them right, each type of question. I also noticed that for different question types my mindset had to change a bit. Especially for Flaw, NA and MSS type of questions. So I'd put those back to back and let my mind bend and shift. This helped me with a smoother transistion between each question.

The second major thing was confidence. I got a tutor, he suggested filming myself on a section. After reviewing the video I noticed that some questions, I was EXTREMELY confident on my answer. I would then sit there making sure the other answer choices were wrong. Why? This wasted my time. Now I have about 5min at the end of a section to go back over harder questions.