Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LSAT as a poor predictor addenda

daniellefreedman2daniellefreedman2 Free Trial Member
edited December 2014 in General 5 karma
My pre law advisor said to submit an addenda explaining that my LSAT is a poor predictor of my future promise at law school. I am applying this cycle and am debating submitting this information. I got an 1820 on my SAT in 2009 (83rd percentile) and had a 4.41 GPA going into college. By the time I graduated, I had a 3.87, worked12 jobs, was on the high honor roll, college honors program, phi beta kappa, and a couple of other academic honors and awards. BUT my LSAT (took it in december so not 100% sure) is hovering between a 159-161. What are your thoughts on sharing past SAT scores with schools and sharing this kind of addenda?

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Free Trial
    edited December 2014 310 karma
    don't do it
  • daniellefreedman2daniellefreedman2 Free Trial Member
    5 karma
    reason?
  • mes08mes08 Alum Member
    578 karma
    I think ttunden might have said not to because writing an addenda for your LSAT score might sound like you're making an excuse, which wouldn't reflect well. I'm still on the fence about writing one myself, so I don't feel like I can give you definitive advice on what to do. If you write an addenda, you have to have a really solid reason to explain your score, but the "I work and go to school full time" probably wouldn't cut it, since there are countless of other people in the same situation. If you have a stronger, better reason though, it might be worth writing the addenda. Regardless of whether you write the addenda or not, your GPA, jobs, and other activities will be taken into consideration when they look at your score and your overall application.
  • Alex ShortAlex Short Alum Member
    112 karma