Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Applying to both LLM and JD programs. Need advice.

navacuenca92navacuenca92 Alum Member
edited October 2017 in Law School Admissions 57 karma

Hello everyone!

I am a foreign attorney and since I'm planning to live in the States, I want to have a J.D. My dream is to go to a Top 15 Law School, but since I don't know if I'll be able to get the score (My highest score was 164 this week, but I've been averaging 161 the past month), I have considered applying to both LLMs (in which LSAT is not required) and JDs. That way my chances of being admitted to a top 15 would increase. But lately, I've been having serious doubts and I would like to hear other opinions regarding the following options:

-Would it be better to have a Master's from a really good school like Harvard or Yale and then transfer to another school (not every school accepts LLM to JD transfers), or would it be better to be admitted to a top 25 school JD program, and then trying to transfer on the 2L to an even better school?
-Do you think that it would be counterproductive to apply to both the LLM and JD program within the same school? Let's take for example Columbia, which is my dream school. In case I don't get admitted to a JD program, I could still get admitted to the LLM. But I am afraid that the admissions council would think that I am just applying in a "volume" format, trying to send as many applications as I can or that they might say "Well he has a good JD profile, but he would definitely be a better fit to our LLM program".

Does anyone know someone that has applied to both programs?

Since I am planning to spend a lot of money on application fees (crying), I really want to make the correct decision. Moreover, the deadline for the LLM programs is December 15th, which means that I won't have my LSAT score by then.