Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Would it hurt?????

foxtrotcharlie3foxtrotcharlie3 Free Trial Member
edited January 2015 in General 4 karma
I am a non-traditional student, meaning nearly 40. I am retired, so working is not a big deal with a pension. I took my first LSAT and did not score what I wanted to due to a major injury the day before. I did not score high enough to make the lowest score accepted from last year's pickings of the preferred school I need to get in to (I have small school aged kids that need to stay put). Anyway, does it hurt to submit an application with strong softs (military, big resume, PS, LOR's, etc) and retake the LSAT later this year as a contingency? If I am refused to the preferred school this year, would the school use the refusal against me next year if I reapply with a higher LSAT?

Comments

• jdawg113jdawg113 Alum Inactive ⭐
    2654 karma
    no. If you get accepted and retake in Feb you can use it to try and get $$, if you are waitlisted you could use it to help take u off w/ $. if you are rejected, well you can try to have them reconsider but thats not the most common... if going for a June retake I'm not too sure if it'll do anything for this cycle.
    and no if you are rejected, retake and reapply next cycle your previous rejection will not affect you
  • seglen512seglen512 Free Trial Member
    14 karma
    @jdawg113 I was told by my advisor that getting rejected from a school and then reapplying next cycle is a bad move. He said the only way they will seriously consider my application again is if something significant has changed, like a Masters or something. But when I asked my friends this they thought I should get a second opinion. I'm hearing a lot of conflicting arguments for this. Where did you get your info?
  • ddakjikingddakjiking Inactive ⭐
    edited January 2015 2116 karma
    @seglen512