Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Academic LORs for older students

ApplicantNYCApplicantNYC Free Trial Member

I graduated undergrad in 1997. There is 1 professor who I'm still in touch with, and he would write me a fine LOR. But I doubt he really remembers my academic performance from 20 years ago. My other LORs are from judges and other prominent legal types who know me much better. Would the absence of an academic LOR seem suspect, or is it understood that older students don't generally have them? Many thanks.

Comments

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    23929 karma

@newellnyc said:
    I graduated undergrad in 1997. There is 1 professor who I'm still in touch with, and he would write me a fine LOR. But I doubt he really remembers my academic performance from 20 years ago. My other LORs are from judges and other prominent legal types who know me much better. Would the absence of an academic LOR seem suspect, or is it understood that older students don't generally have them? Many thanks.

The absence of academic LOR won't seem suspect at all, especially since you graduated 20 years ago.

You'd be best served by getting a couple of LORs from your current or past employers. LORs from judges and other prominent legal types can be helpful, but really only if they can speak to work you've done for them.

• goingfor99thgoingfor99th Free Trial Member
    edited December 2017 3072 karma

If you're non-traditional, you may be alright. How do you know the "judges and prominent legal types"? Through work?

• ApplicantNYCApplicantNYC Free Trial Member
    10 karma

I know them all fairly well. My professional work involves the election of judges. But perhaps a direct employer is better?

@"Alex Divine" said:
    The absence of academic LOR won't seem suspect at all, especially since you graduated 20 years ago.