Subscription pricing
LSAT Prep Test 32
October, 2000
Section 3, Questions 19-24
Game 4
2nd Rule States That G Is In Slot 1, So G Cannot Be In Slot 7. Contrposite Is G In Slot 7, Then G Is Not In Slot 1.
Question: Why Is Not A Board With G In Slot 7, But Not In 1?
0
5 comments
It depends on how strong your logic skills are and how familiar you are with contrapositives. If you have a really good understanding of them, then writing out the contrapositive for every conditional rule would largely just be symbolism for you. However, if you're still a little shaky then writing out the CP is great practice. Writing out the CP can also be useful for the less than straightforward conditionals as well.
Okay.
Question, whenever there is conditional logic in a game, do we contropose like in LR?
Well, not necessarily because there's nothing to say that G had to be in 1 or 7. You would only split the game board up like that if there was only 1 variable that could go in either 1 or 7. In this case, G and N could go in 7, and all three of them could go in 1 (if you removed the G=1 rule).
Thank you, This makes total sense.
If there was no second rule that states G must be in slot 1, then there would have been 2 boards, slot 1 G and slot 7 G, correct?
There's no gameboard when G is not in 1 because the second rule states that G is in 1. This means always and forever. There is no scenario in which G cannot be in 1.
Also, rule 3 is 1-->/7. The contrapositive is 7-->/1.