Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Personal Statement Struggles

Alright guys, I've been attempting to write my PS off and on for the last 2 months with no measurable progress. I've written two full PS's which I scrapped completely because they were brutally unpalatable. Any suggestions would be tremendously appreciated, especially in regards to topic brainstorming. I have gone through all the 7sage material available to me [Free account :(] and there are a lot of good ideas, but none that have unlocked my inspiration.

Comments

• Mitchell-1Mitchell-1 Member
    756 karma

No advice, just commiseration. I've scrapped everything I've been writing since June. I hate writing about myself. I wrote a full page second argument against a June LR question today instead. It took me an hour. If only the PS were so easy... Maybe I can just submit that :-p

• tylerdschreur10tylerdschreur10 Alum Member
    1465 karma

Haha, definitely thinking outside the box, shows your determination to pursue justice in the face of insurmountable evil (LSAT)...
    It's better than anything I've come up with thus far.

• I think it is very hard to give advice to anyone if you haven't really read their personal statements. I am not an expert by any means. But from what I have learnt from a few seminars that I have attended, it needs to be your interview on paper (your experiences, your struggles, the way you have overcame them, why would you like to pursue law, why at that specific school, where does your passion for social justice come from, etc.) Note that these are only some examples. As I said, it is an interview on paper, and obviously, all of us have our own unique stories to tell.