Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is it inconceivable?

carg1995carg1995 Free Trial Member
edited December 2017 in Law School Admissions 11 karma

I took the December LSAT and scored a 153. My scores had been averaging out at around 155-157, so I scored a bit lower than I would have hoped. However, I have an undergraduate GPA of 3.85+ in sociology (concentration of law) with a forensic sciences minor. I graduated in my program with distinction, and I am certain I will have glowing letters of recommendation at my disposal (my undergraduate academic advisor adored me and would be willing to say nothing but the best about me, I had a foreign language professor for 4 semesters straight in a course with section sizes of no larger than 15 students who I had established an intimate relationship with and who would do the same, I had a course on religion in which I had the second highest score of anyone in the course; the professor actually emailed me at the conclusion of the semester to congratulate me on a job well done, to inform me that I was only .37% away from the highest score, and to simply articulate that I was a pleasure to have in class, and so on).

My top school choice is Notre Dame, but it is quite competitive (even the 25th percentile LSAT score for the past incoming class is several points higher than I scored). However, I AM above the typical GPA 75th percentile.

I was wondering if a few other factors may play a strong enough role in my application to tilt the odds more favorably (and if they are points that I should even shed light on in my application):

1) I am a South Bend native. Anyone from the area knows that Notre Dame runs in the blood of those who are from the area, so I plan to write about this in the "Why Notre Dame?" section of the application.