Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Reading Comprehension struggles

jhanco10jhanco10 Alum Member

Good evening 7SAGE family,

I have been studying for the LSAT for around six months. Although I've finished all CC for reading comprehension I continue to struggle in this area. My gains have been great in LG and LR, but I have only improved minimally in RC. My scores range from 155-158 with a raw score of 16-20 on RC. This has come to me as no surprise as RC is the hardest to improve, but it's still discouraging to do so poorly. Even a small gain in the raw score of reading comprehension would be huge. I am scheduled to take the June LSAT. What advice can you give to help me with this reading stagnation?

Thank you in advance

Comments

• Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27829 karma

There's so many things that could be costing you points that it's really hard to say without more detail. How's your timing? What type of questions do you seem to be missing? How do you do in BR?

• jhanco10jhanco10 Alum Member
    195 karma

I almost always have 7 minutes remaining when I get to the last passage and it causes me to rush through. I get around half of BR questions I originally missed correct. Local questions really bog me down. Going back the passage and searching messes me up.

• SamiSami Live Member Sage 7Sage Tutor
    10779 karma

@benhancock68 said:
    I almost always have 7 minutes remaining when I get to the last passage and it causes me to rush through.

The timing is problematic because it indicates either you are spending too long on the passage or getting caught up on questions that you should be skipping. For each passage, you are really in a danger zone if you are spending an upwards of four minutes or more just reading it. For questions you really want to answer them around 30 seconds each.