Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Admissions Advice

nick1996nick1996 Free Trial Member

I recently improved my score from a 154 to a 166 and that is just edging into the good territory for T14s, but I am applying this cycle and decisions are coming very late. I am wondering if I should wait until the next cycle or to continue with a full scholarship at a lower ranked university. I am primarily afraid that I will not have as good of an application given that I will not have great references and lack more stories for a quality personal statement.

Being a Michigan resident, I was really aiming for the University of Michigan, but affordability would be an issue. Any input? I applied to U of M (initially denied, waiting for update), Northwestern, UCLA, Minnesota, UC Irvine, Notre Dame, Indiana - Bloomington, University of Washington (denied), U Colorado - Boulder (waitlisted), Michigan State ($126k), and Wayne State (100% tuition).

Should I re-apply in the next cycle?
  1. What should I do?24 votes
    1. Go for full scholarships.
        8.33%
    2. Take the best school you are admitted to.
      37.50%
    3. Apply in the next cycle.
      54.17%

Comments

• Leah M BLeah M B Alum Member
    8392 karma

It's obviously a really personal choice, but unless you are surprised with a big scholarship to a good school, I think you might be better off applying next year. It sounds like you were still improving on the LSAT. If you could bump up a few points or especially break 170 and then re-applied, you'd probably have a very different result. If scholarships are a priority to you (and I think that's a very wise choice), I think you should position yourself to have the best shot at getting a good one. What's your GPA like? That will of course also factor in.

• nick1996nick1996 Free Trial Member
    46 karma