Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sufficient & necessary conditions

I am somewhat struggling with diagramming sufficient and necessary conditions with logical reasoning. Some i can answer and some has me a little confused. Are there any tips that could help me understand this? I’m not on 7 sage core curriculum i am studying with LSATMAX, but i also have powerscore bibles and a book called the LSAT trainer that just came in. If anyone could please help me i would greatly appreciate it.

Comments

• TexAgAaronTexAgAaron Alum Member
    1723 karma

@denzeljones14 As someone who also uses the Trainer (as a supplement for 7sage), highly recommend diving into that book! Explains things very well.

What is your issue with Suff/Necc? You said you are having trouble in LR and answering questions. Are you just having trouble with the concept itself or a particular question type?

In general, a sufficient condition is a condition that triggers a necessary one. For that sufficient condition to exist, the necessary must be true as well. But the necessary does not guarantee that the sufficient exists.

Let's use an example: All birds are blue.
    Sufficient: All birds
    Necessary: Blue things
    Logic Version: Bird-->Blue

I know from this statement that if something it is a bird, it will be blue. But does that mean if something is blue, it is a bird? No. Think about the necessary condition as a large circle (blue things) and the sufficient condition as a smaller circle (all birds) within that large circle. Just because something is blue, does not guarantee that its a bird; there is a chance that it is something else. But if we trigger the sufficient (hey we have a bird here), then we know with out a doubt that in this logical world were in, the bird is blue.