Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LR Speed

OhnoeshalpmeOhnoeshalpme Alum Member

On average, how long does a strong LR student spend reading the stimulus and question stem before looking at the answer choices? In general I spend more than a minute on a question before I get to the AC's... (i'm new to timed LR)

Comments

• kflor028kflor028 Free Trial Member
    18 karma

When I first start a section, the first 9-12 questions I generally take about 1-1:30 min for each question. I haven't timed the stimulus specifically, but I guess I can estimate it to 0:30-1 min. I have found that personalizing it has really helped me a lot.

So like if they are talking about dinosaurs, in my head I come up with a name or I imagine the guy from Back to the Future talking to Marty about the problem. If it's about heart disease or health related problems. I imagine a really stupid doctor trying to explain to me my own health condition but with flawed logic, then I imagine that I would want to correct him and try to decide how I would correct him. I was also in debate team, so in debate team, we are trained to find the inconsistencies in arguments. So assume every argument is wrong until proven valid and try to nitpick it and prove it wrong in your head.

Sometimes if it's an obscure fact like there was this one question about cow mattresses, I imagine a rude and pretentious student raising his hand and saying "Actually..." before explaining some weird fact no one cares about and then I would try to prove him wrong in my head.

Personalizing the questions in my head made me focus more instead of being disassociated with the questions and rereading because it was so boring I didn't focus. It also motivated me to undermine the argument. Even in assumption or strengthen questions, I would find the fault of the argument and try to fix it by using one of the answers in the question.