Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ideas for strengthening application

Hi,

For the past five years, I have been working online, teaching English to students oversees, while staying home to take care of my little ones. Before that, I was a middle school ELA teacher.

My passion has always been to attend law school, and I think I am at a point in my life where I am ready. I am 32. I took the June LSAT and scored 161. My undergrad GPA was 3.64. I plan on taking the LSAT again, hoping to pull it up in the 165-172 range. My dream school is Northwestern Law.

I will probably apply for Law School during the 2020 cycle. Until then, I have some time for volunteering/ working on my softs.
What can I do for the next year that would strengthen my application?

Comments

• OhnoeshalpmeOhnoeshalpme Alum Member
    edited August 2018 2531 karma

Obviously your first priority should be the LSAT but I am guessing that you are taking the steps in that area that you need to. Just make sure when picking volunteer work that you are not prioritizing that over study time. The key to getting into Northwestern is a good LSAT score. You already have the ample work experience and maturity that Northwestern favors. But keep in mind that they prioritize the LSAT more than anything else. With a GPA of 3.64 you will need a 170 or better to be considered at Northwestern. The fact that you already scored in the 160's tells me that you are capable of scoring in that range with a consistent, long-term devotion to the test.