Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

PS ideas

nathanieljschwartznathanieljschwartz Alum Member
in General 1723 karma

i was doing some brainstorming on ideas for my personal statement
and wanted to get the communities take on them.

i studied abroad in the middle east for 3 yrs and the academy i studied in lacked a gym . the closest gym to us was about an hour away and exorbitantly expensive. i am a fitness fanatic and after a year of working out in my room with whatever objects i could use as weights i decided that this has to end. i went to the school and petitioned them to give me a room in the dormitory to use as a gym, after many long arguments, they agreed to give me a small room as long as the school would have no expenses from the gym. I then went out and fundraised money for gym equipment and new flooring. i was able to raise a few thousand dollars. i travelled 2 hrs to closest gym supplier and purchased whatever machinery and weights we could afford and the flooring, they shipped it to the academy. and i spent a week installing the flooring myself and building all the equipment, for the next 2 years i did the maintenance and upkeep of the gym until i came back stateside.

any thoughts on this idea would be much appreciated . thanks for reading!

Comments

• _oshun1__oshun1_ Alum Member
    edited September 2018 3652 karma

I would try to specifically mention a student and how it impacted their life to have/not have a gym so it has an emotional component.
    Also, does anything in your resume make it blatantly evident that you’re on the path to become an attorney?
    If not, try to tie your PS into why you want to go to law school a little bit. Like maybe you want to be a children’s rights advocate or do something for charity or finance idk.

• samantha.ashley92samantha.ashley92 Alum Member
    1777 karma