Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Route to IP Law

duncan_maryduncan_mary Alum Member
in Off-topic 25 karma

I am currently a Masters student in Bioengineering with a BS in Chemistry (3.75 GPA). I have recently gotten some mixed opinions about the best way to get into Patent Law, and I'm really hoping I could get your advice/experience. I have heard that I should work as a scientist in the field and then go to law school once I have established myself with a company so as to increase my eligibility for an in-house position immediately following law school. I have also been told I should work as a patent agent for a few years after my MS instead and then go to law school.

My question is...How important do you think technical work experience is to law firms when hiring? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• bananabobananabo Core Member
    edited January 2020 1211 karma

In order to be a patent lawyer, you need to take both your state bar exam and the patent bar exam. The patent bar exam requires you to have at least a BS in a science degree, which you already have. In my opinion if you want to be a patent lawyer, go to law school and then take both bar exams because at the end of the day, whoever is hiring you to be a patent lawyer is going to analyze your ability and experience as a lawyer rather than your ability as a scientist.

Although having work experience as a scientist could be a plus, I think whether or not you want to gain experience as a scientist is completely up to you and your timeline – how long are you willing to hold off law school for while you gain experience? If you’re going to do 1-2 years of experience as a scientist, I think you’re better off just going straight to law school, honestly.