Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Retake June or September?

mes08mes08 Alum Member
in General 578 karma
As you can see from the title, I'm having a dilemma and I'd really appreciate any thoughts/advice you might have. I'm retaking the LSAT after having a disappointing score in December. I've decided that after nearly a year of studying for the LSAT, I don't want to get a score less than 168. I feel like I'm capable of it and I've seen a slow but steady improvement since I started studying again in February.

However, because test day scores are +/-3 points, I want to be averaging a 170+ before taking the real thing. Right now, I'm still averaging in the upper 160s and haven't been able to consistently score above a 170. It's mid April and I thought I should see how I do on the next two PTs. If I'm scoring 170+ I thought I should go ahead and register for June; otherwise, continue studying until September.

Are my two most recent PTs sufficient for me to base my decision on and/or should I simply wait until September? What do you guys think?

Comments

• Nilesh SNilesh S Alum Inactive ⭐
    3438 karma
    The rule of thumb is the average of your last 3 PTs... also...you should probably pose this question a week before the June exam... there is plenty of time from now till then and in my view at least, any decision at this point would be premature...
  • blah170blahblah170blah Alum Inactive ⭐
    3545 karma
    ^^ Word. KNOPE OUT
  • shine.on.meshine.on.me Alum Member
    463 karma
    I'm in a similar dilemma. I'm dealing with some personal crap in my life right now, suffering a little bit of burnout, I want to score low 170s, and I am debating between a retake in October or December. I hate being patient but I am planning on seeing where I am at in September and make that decision from there. I would recommend the same as @Nilesh S wait to see where you at to make a final decision.