Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New to LSAT: need serious help on RC

robin360robin360 Core Member

I took my first cold diagnostic yesterday and got 150 on LSAT 42. While I understand that the overall score is decent for a cold diagnostic, I have a major problem with RC. To break it down (13/23 on LG,18/26 & 18/26 LR, 9/26 on RC) I am not afraid of my LG score because everyone says it's learnable and that it's just a matter of time. Kinda the same deal for LR which I was ok at my score without practice. But for RC I was shocked at how bad my reading ability was. I almost could not understand any passage whatsoever.

This is my first post so to briefly introduce myself, I am a finance student in 3rd year from Vancouver. I originally wanted to be in investment banking but I didn't hustle hard enough at networking or perform at interviews to land relevant internships so that door is closing. My plan B was to be a corporate Lawyer. I hope to get into Columbia or NYU because I love NYC and know that those two give the best job prospects for Corporate Law. So given that, I am aiming up my score from 150 to 170+ to have a decent chance.

The problem here is that RC is the hardest to improve. I almost never read books, so I can see why I can't read for shit on RC. But I am willing to put in a lot (1.5+ years) of time in order to land 170+ (if that is realistic, lmk). I am wondering how I can improve at RC drastically. I guess I have to improve at reading - in general - but fear that goal is too broad and too unreasonable a task. To get this goal, should I do more than just LSAT RC, but also SAT & GRE RC as well? Or before that should I improve my reading in general by reading complex books? If so, what books or categories of books should I target? Or is reading in general a more innately defined ability that I would be wasting my time to try to improve in less than 20 months time?