Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Tips on studying when...

profile427profile427 Alum Member
in General 213 karma
Hi All,

I'm reaching out to see if you all have any tips on how to manage your study time when you're working full-time and in a committed relationship. I'm shacked up with my partner, who also works full-time, and even though he's quite supportive of me taking the LSAT [again], it sure seems hard to just come home every day after my 9-to-5 (often 8-to-7) and completely ignore that I'm in a long-term relationship. Then there are the weekends...

Considering that the LSAT is not a cakewalk, I've realized lately that I'm letting my studying fall by the wayside due to the guilt of ignoring my beau. My situation was very different when I studied for the GRE & applied to grad school, so this is new territory for me.

Thoughts? Am I just making major excuses to avoid studying (due to the fear of sucking on LSAT #2) or are there others out there who have grappled with a similar situation?

(No, I'm not ditching my guy for the LSAT, thank you!)

Comments

• harrismeganharrismegan Member
    2074 karma
    haha, I was in a similar situation.
    I finally (after stressing for a really long time trying to balance everything) sat them down and let them know that I would make time for them when I could. I studied in the AM, on my lunch break, and between 5-8 PM and dedicated 8-10 PM to my loved one <3. It ended up working out in the end because that two hours was purely dedicated to spending time with them AND I was able to get my study time in. My situation has changed since then, but it worked good!
  • VegMeg55VegMeg55 Alum Member Inactive ⭐
    587 karma