Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

High Performers' Blind Review Performance

in General 137 karma

Question to those who are scoring in the mid-170s and up: Are you getting close to a -0 in blind review? Or are there always a small number of questions that evade you--even when you have unlimited opportunity to review questions? Thanks!

Comments

• RaphaelPRaphaelP Member Sage 7Sage Tutor
    1116 karma

I'll try to give the perspective here of myself (when I was a student scoring mid- to high-170s on PTs) and my high-scoring students.

LG: Yes, you should be -0 here, regardless of your score. Even a mid-150s scorer should be able to brute force every single game in BR; it just will take a long time.

LR: I would typically be -0 here in BR. However, this was not always the case. Often, if I missed a question timed, I'd miss it again untimed - as you get to be a higher and higher scorer, your timing improves a lot. I'd usually finish with at least 15 min left overall to pour into the harder questions, which meant I could spend 5+ min on the 1-2 absolute hardest, if necessary. So, I'd have had ample time on the "hard" questions timed already and missing it would often not even be due to time. If I missed it in the timed section, looking again in BR would not change my fate.

RC: Same as LR, except I'd usually end up -1 here in BR. Timing was quite a bit tighter for me on RC than LR (I'd rarely finish with more than 10 min left), so I'd usually be like -2 or -3 timed, with perhaps 1 of those being due to time pressure and 1-2 being actual substantive mistakes on a curvebreaker.