Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LSAT Limit

mchanghainesmchanghaines Member
in General 76 karma

Is there a limit to how well you can do? I've been at this for over a year and a half now, worked with multiple tutors and put my all into it, but I just can't improve into the 170's. I honestly am just at a loss right now and about to take the March test. I've been missing the same number of questions for the past 6 months despite changing strategies, learning new strategies, etc. I just am feeling very hopeless. My LSAT score will probably be the factor that holds me back from getting into the schools I want. I went to a top 5 school, did extremely well, and have a great resume, but I can't crack the LSAT no matter how hard I try.

Comments

• 571 karma

It sounds like you might be too focused on strategies and not taking the time to relax. When your mind is bogged down by strategy, you become inflexible during the test. This test is not about memorization but about adaptability. To that end, I would suggest taking a short break and coming back to the test. This will help clear your strategies landfill clogging your memory. When I did this, I saw a 7-point improvement between my two final official LSATs!

• Steven_B-1Steven_B-1 Member
    794 karma

Have you been blind reviewing? I've seen my biggest improvements after engaging in the painstaking review of every single argument or passage before actually listening or reading any explanations. It's helped me push my mind to understand what the LSAT is trying to do.

• mchanghainesmchanghaines Member
    76 karma

@Steven_B thanks, yes, I spent months taking PT's, BR, and writing out explanations for every question I got wrong or was unsure about.

• claremontclaremont Core Member
    590 karma

@mchanghaines, is there a difference between your time and untimed scores?

• canihazJDcanihazJD Alum Member Sage
    edited February 2022 8313 karma