Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Test Anxiety

Jefferson2199Jefferson2199 Alum Member
in General 30 karma

I’m pretty new to prep, and I just started taking full-length timed sections. The degree to which stress and panic impacts performance on this test is bewildering to me. I took a timed games section, got thrown off guard by a question or two, and began to panic. I then forgot my technique, muddled through the rest of the section, and wound up going -7. Once I regained my composure, I took another section—this time much calmer and more focused. -2. Does anyone else experience these kinds of fluctuations based on mentality?

Comments

• Jefferson2199Jefferson2199 Alum Member
    30 karma

And, in case you were wondering, the two sections did not vary much in terms of difficulty.

• Matt SorrMatt Sorr Alum Member
    2239 karma

I am a firm believer that repetition increases comfort. As you get more accustomed to timed sections and PTs, you will learn that coming across unusual games or difficult questions isn’t the end of the world (and that it’s really just a reality of the LSAT). There is no way to “cheat” experience; you’ve either taken a bunch of timed sections or you haven’t.

All of this is to say two things: you shouldn’t feel like you’re abnormal, and things will get better with reps. Your mentality can certainly cause your score to fluctuate greatly, but with practice you’ll learn to minimize these fluctuations and, eventually, make them basically nonexistent.

• Jefferson2199Jefferson2199 Alum Member
    30 karma

@"Matt Sorr" said: