Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

When to start taking timed prep tests? :)

Belle RossBelle Ross Alum Member
in General 14 karma

Hello! I am currently at Introduction to Logic in the course, however I have experience studying in another course so I do have an understanding of each section for the most part. I have taken one timed prep test and have been studying for three weeks now. I wanted to wait until I had a basic understanding of each question type before taking timed prep tests as to not burn out, lose motivation due to subpar results, etc..
I work a full time job on top of volunteer hours. Will one to two prep tests a week be fine? Should I start now or should I build up a better understanding of each section through 7Sage? It's been a great help so far but I worry that I am wasting my time. I'll admit I started studying a little later than some might advise.
Thank you.
Very best,
Belle

Comments

• Matt SorrMatt Sorr Alum Member
    edited May 2022 2239 karma

I'd advise being comfortable with each section before taking prep tests. In my opinion, there's not much value in taking PTs before you've been exposed to all of the elements of each section because if you do you're going in blind and you won't be able to truly gauge where you're weak and strong. At what point you're "comfortable" varies by person, but at the least, I'd urge you not to start taking PTs before you've at least seen all of the LR question types, LG game types, and some RC passages.

Regarding whether or not 1 to 2 PTs a week is good, I think most 7Sagers would agree that's the ideal amount. Unless you're scoring really high and only missing a few questions each time you take a PT, I don't think most people can fully extract the lessons you learn when reviewing PTs and, in particular, the areas that you're struggling with when taking more than 2 PTs per week. So 1 to 2 a week is perfect.