Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Character and Fitness

7sagelsatstudent1807sagelsatstudent180 Alum Member
in General 932 karma
Does anyone know what character and fitness flaws are dealbreakers?

Comments

• PacificoPacifico Alum Inactive ⭐
    8021 karma
    Depends on the particular state's bar requirements, the final disposition of the issue, the current disposition of the issue, the school's perspective on such matters, as well as a host of other issues. There are some people that have become lawyers with some absolutely crazy C&F issues that would probably blow your mind. Obviously I'm not a consultant or anything but I have some experience dealing with this so feel free to PM me if you have any other questions.

If you know what state you want to practice in, it's definitely worth it to do some deep research into their regulations. Once I found out I could practice where I want to with the issues I have, I then looked into the schools I want to attend and how they deal with such matters and now I just have to work on how to carefully address all my issues on my applications.
  • blah170blahblah170blah Alum Inactive ⭐
    3545 karma
    You should look at each state's specific rules for passing the MBTE (the moral character test).
  • profile427profile427 Alum Member
    213 karma
    I'm glad that you brought this up!

What's the deal with minor traffic violations, such as a few ancient rectified speeding tickets or minor collisions (such as receiving a citation for a non-injurious rear-ending)?

How much health history do you have to reveal? Especially behavioral/mental health stuff that has no relation to any law-breaking? Doesn't that break HIPAA laws to have to reveal any of that stuff? I mean, about 13+% of Americans are on antidepressants...
  • hrjones44hrjones44 Alum Member
    323 karma