Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

admissions at law school

krkr1234krkr1234 Member
edited March 2023 in Law School Admissions 4 karma

I hold a bachelor's degree in law, but the GPA is low

After that, I studied for a master's degree and got a high GPA

The question is, can I be accepted to study jd in America after I get a good mark in lsat?

The question 2 is, will they consider the master's degree and ignore the bachelor's degree?

Comments

• tiareynolds71tiareynolds71 Live Member
    20 karma

@krkr1234 said:
    I hold a bachelor's degree in law, but the GPA is low

After that, I studied for a master's degree and got a high GPA

The question is, can I be accepted to study jd in America after I get a good mark in lsat?

The question 2 is, will they consider the master's degree and ignore the bachelor's degree?

• tiareynolds71tiareynolds71 Live Member
    20 karma

I am in very similar situation. Wondering what weight, if any, my high graduate gpa will be given to account for low ugpa. Eager to hear the response. And thanks!

• offy0c-1-1offy0c-1-1 Live Member
    241 karma

For what I have heard is that they consider the undergraduate GPA over the graduate one. I think one of the reasons that they do this is because not a lot of students have received a post graduate degree when they are applying for law school.

• Hephner_Hephner_ Live Member
    edited March 2023 59 karma

your masters degree is considered a soft factor and will be looked at but your bachelors gpa will hold more weight - once you take the lsat & score high, you will be considered a splitter(Lower gpa, higher lsat)

• KelllyyyKelllyyy Live Member
    43 karma

I am in a similar position and I know my chances of gaining admissions is low low, unless I get a higher than average lsat score. sucks

• Jacob BaskaJacob Baska Member Admissions Consultant
    21 karma