Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Newbie here: When to start taking PrepTests?

hm_dubs5hm_dubs5 Live Member
in General 26 karma

Hello! I'm just finishing off my first week with 7Sage, and I'm wondering when to start taking full-length PrepTests. (I am not in a rush to prepare for a specific test date.) Should I start when I've worked through all the course content, immediately, or sometime in between? If there is guidance on this in the course, I have not been able to locate it yet.

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you!

Comments

• CrazyCroweCrazyCrowe Alum Member
    28 karma

I recommend taking practice tests as early as possible. I get lost in the theory if I spend too much time grinding through the course. Practice tests make sure that I stay grounded in what's essential. I learned this early on, so most of my studies are made up of practice tests, blind review, and drilling myself on JY's explanations of the problems I missed. I have found this to be fulfilling, very effective, and enjoyable. Oh, and make sure not to forget to do blind review. Really struggle with the questions before watching the explanation. You will see much greater gains this way. Best of luck!

• hm_dubs5hm_dubs5 Live Member
    26 karma

@CrazyCrowe Thanks for your input! Much appreciated. Planning my practice test schedule now :)

• TomHagenTomHagen Alum Member
    edited May 2023 78 karma

I agree with crazy Crowe, but wanted to add that you should try to save a good chunk of the pts numbered in the 80s and 90s for when you’re nearing the end of your prep and getting ready to take the exam. Those tests are the ones that most closely resemble the modern test and are invaluable as a way to determine what kind of score to expect when you sit for the actual lsat.

• simon170simon170 Alum Member
    51 karma

I would only do so when missing around the amount required for your goal score on individual sections