Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Logical Reasoning Help

ToddHonasToddHonas Core Member

If anyone has any tips on LR, I would appreciate it. I have been studying for about 3 months and have gone through Core Curriculum and several practice tests, I have also went through Ellen Cassidy's Loophole book.

I have consistently drilled around -6 to -10 and would like to get down to -3 to -5 for LR sections. Looking at patterns I do well in Q's 1-10 yet I usually miss 5 or 6 in a row in the back half of the section 17-25.

Any tips would be appreciated!!

Comments

• TwentyStarGeneralTwentyStarGeneral Core Member
    111 karma

There's a lot to say here...

(1) General approach: I read every stimulus with a skeptical and aggressive posture. I search first for the conclusion, then the support, and last the flaw or flawed assumption. If there is no conclusion (and thus no argument), I figure out what type of question it is and prephrase if possible (this is all similar to what she advocates in the Loophole). As I read, I also break the argument down and figure out what each part is doing structurally and why it is included.

(2) When you learn a new question type, you need to drill that question type using the exact system you learned for eliminating wrong answers and then choosing the right answer. If you don't apply the system, you have a bunch of theory that you can't apply. In general, you want to learn one new type a day using this process, while continuing to drill the old types using the system you learned.

(3) Be elimination focused, rather than right answer focused. This will greatly increase your accuracy. Remember that every wrong answer is wrong for objective reasons that should follow the system you learned. Gut feeling or intuition are not reliable guides on harder questions.