Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The Economist, Scientific America, Science Magazine_how to read them?

Giant PandaGiant Panda Alum Member
in General 274 karma
Dear there,

How do you read these articles? Especially the last one: Science Magazine.

The article most often, if not all, are subjects that I have no knowledge of and most often, every sentence contain a term, undefined, and require in depth background knowledge. For example, in this issue, Title "Biochemical and genomic data elucidate how fungal enzyme attacks polysaccharides", and my brain can only understand, "Data+verb, don't know what it means+how enzyme attacks+this object"

And it gets even crazier when you go down into the actual passage.

I made a similar post in TLS where the community recommends me just focus at the underlying logic and take undefined terms by its first letter (Like math, assume X is this junk)...

Any lights on how you will do it?

[I find these article great practice on RC and LR just because it is always wrote in a commanding voice on something that I have no idea about]

Comments

• Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    27859 karma
    @"Giant Panda" said:
    my brain can only understand, "Data+verb, don't know what it means+how enzyme attacks+this object"