Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Advice?

DinnerAtSixDinnerAtSix Member
in General 86 karma
Y'all,

I have a 3.49 gpa at the end of my junior year due to a very rough sophomore year, and am thinking of applying to law schools in the fall. Will law schools wonder why I don't just sit out this admissions cycle and apply next year, since my grades show a nice upward trend? The real reason I am insistent on applying this cycle is because I am an international student and finding a job within the 90 days after graduation as stipulated by my F-1 visa will be hard with a mere Psych degree.

My question is: should I just apply to schools that are within my reach [T25 - T40] this cycle, or should I (to the great consternation of my quintessential South Asian parents) return home for a year and apply next year with a ~ 3.65?

I haven't taken the LSAT yet, but with the few practice tests I've done, I'm averaging a 167 and really want to bring it up to a 170.

Thank you!

Comments

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    23929 karma
    @DinnerAtSix

First, let me congratulate you on an awesome LSAT PT scores!

Second, you never really mention your goals...
    Do you want to attend a T25-T50? Or are you looking to break into the T14?
    I know parents can be overbearing, but you need to understand that ultimately this is your life and you have to do what is best for you. I was raised by my grandparents who were 100% against me being a lawyer. They thought lawyers were all scam artists and whatnot... I still am doing what is best for me! I'm going to be the one living my life; not them, so I need to operate and make decisions as such.

I think you should first figure out your long term goals and make a plan to achieve them. I'm not sure why, but I get a feeling from your post that your heart doesn't seem in this. At least not applying with your GPA as it is now... If I'm off base I apologize.