Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Taking too long to complete modules

a.ram005a.ram005 Alum Member
in General 30 karma

Hello All,

I'm fairly new at this but I've noticed I'm taking 2x as long to complete the the course sections than what is listed. For example, I just finished for the night before getting to the Main Point Problem Sets and I spent about 3 hours just to get there when the whole thing is listed as 3 hours. I'm worried this is going to take me longer than expected each week broken down which is difficult for the weeks averaging over 12 hours a week on my study schedule.

Comments

• Habeas PorpoiseHabeas Porpoise Alum Member Sage
    edited August 2018 1866 karma

It's okay if you're taking more time than what's written -- I know I did for some of the sections. You're better off spending time up front now to get the foundations solid than rushing through the CC and struggling later on (and likely not getting the most out of each PT). You might also get faster with the CC as you get more used to how LSAT questions are written. Either way, I wouldn't worry about it, though it might be beneficial to change up your study schedule if you feel like it's too much. How far out is your exam date and which cycle are you looking to apply to law school? You'll need to adjust things depending on where you're starting and what you're aiming for.

• moormingmoorming Core Member
    edited August 2018 21 karma

I would say approach the courses strategically, especially if you are under constraint.

Before I get to the real thing here, I would like to ask whether the time you need to finish the problem sets is included in the recommended time to complete the section - if not, then you're still on your schedule. If they are actually included, then here's some of my thoughts: