Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Apply early or retake LSAT in Oct/Nov?

Folso102Folso102 Yearly Member
edited August 2019 in General 61 karma

hello! I have a 3.73 GPA and just got a 158 LSAT on the July test. I have been PTing pretty consistently in the 157-160 range so this was expected---but now my question is, do I study extra hard these next 2 months and push for a couple more points to MAYBE hit that 160 (I say maybe because I work 55 hours a week now that I graduated), or should I get all my apps in by early OCT and try to get in that way?

So basically, is it better to apply later but with the POSSIBLE chance of a 160, or apply ASAP in oct with a 158?

According to the 7sage predictor, my chances are better by about 15% if I apply now with a 158 even if I did hit that 160 but applied in Dec. Has anybody else had a similar experience in their cycles?

***EDIT: I'm at 75 percentile GPA and 25 percentile LSAT for most schools right now, making me a reverse splitter.

Comments

• MissChanandlerMissChanandler Alum Member Sage
    3256 karma

It entirely depends on your goal school. Is 160 the median of a school you really want to go to, or is it an arbitrary number?

• lsatgodjklsatgodjk Alum Member
    938 karma

This really depends on what school you want to attend. You can get some serious gainz with 2 more months of studying. I really think you could break 162+ in 2 months, but I do realize you work 60 hours a week which takes away from quality study time.

Bottom line: depends on desired school. If, for example, your school's 75th LSAT is lets say 158? You could be looking at some money if you dropped 162+. (assuming you are also in there 50 to 75 GPA range)

• studyingandrestudyingstudyingandrestudying Core Member
    5254 karma