Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Crossroad in my life

mmoreno142mmoreno142 Free Trial Member
in General 5 karma

Hello everyone I need some help with an issue I have been struggling with. Any input would be great.
Back story:
I graduated high school in 2007 and started community college
and i am currently doing both and plan to get my associates fall 2019 and bachelors in may 2020

Since 2007 I have been the worst at yoyoing through my enrollment. Most semesters I would start and stop college for whatever reason (i have a lot of Fs from not showing up and Ws because i would withdraw before the date)

I started University in Fall 2018 and will graduate with a 3.8

My community college grades are weighing my 3.8 to a 2.7 total

Here is my question.

I can take some courses over and raise my gpa to a 3.0 (this would need to happen in spring 2020 or I can keep it and invest the time into studying for the LSAT. I plan on taking it in October/November 2020.
So i either take some classes and not start studying until May
Or just write an addendum and use the time to study for the LSAT.

(I have already asked the schools about changing to withdraws and its not possible)

Comments

• taschasptaschasp Alum Member Sage
    796 karma

Sounds like a challenging dilemma.

If you're fairly positive you can bump your GPA up from 2.7 to 3.0, I think that's your best bet, because that could make a considerable difference and it'd be more for certain (whereas, the payoff of extra months of LSAT studying is a bit more uncertain).

But it's not a straightforward choice. If a few extra months means bumping up your LSAT score by 5 points, it could offset that. But I think your best bet is to try to get that 3.0 and then still spend your remaining months to do as well on the LSAT as you can. If you have any breaks before then I would recommend you also try to squeeze in some more LSAT studying.