Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

165 (September) –> 167 (January), 3.70 GPA. Chances at t20 for next cycle?

ALLCAA123ALLCAA123 Alum Member

Hi everyone,

I'm curious what you think. I want to practice law in the midwest or south, and I'm looking at schools like WUSTL, Vandy, and UT-Austin. I might send an app to GULC/Cornell just for the hell of it– I'm leaning a little toward NY BigLaw; not sure at this point, but if I get in at a t15 northeastern school, I'd heavily consider it. In addition to my gpa/lsat, I have cookie-cutter softs for a law school applicant, and assume average LORs and personal statement. I have some part-time work experience from undergrad and I'm taking a gap year to work as a court clerk before going to law school.

What do you guys think about my chances at the schools listed? I tried MyLSN and 7sage's predictor, but they're giving conflicting reports. 7sage says that I'd have ~80% chance at WUSTL, but the MyLSN graph shows a lot of people with my stats getting waitlisted/rejected. Also, are the 2019 ABA 509 reports for schools the official stats/medians for next cycle (fall 2020), or will schools come out with Class of 2023 stats later this year as the new application window opens?

Thank you all. I owe my improvement to 7sage!

Comments

• lexxx745lexxx745 Alum Member Sage
    3190 karma

I dont think 7sage predictor is that accurate just a rough estimate, personally i think MyLSN would be more accurate.

I mean its tough, assuming average softs LOR resume, etc I think u could get into one or two t15 if you apply incredibly early. But it also wouldnt be surprising for you to get into none. Is a third retake out of the question? I mean you already improved from 165-167 just 1 extra point could be huge. What have your PT scores been?

• ALLCAA123ALLCAA123 Alum Member
    125 karma

@lexxx745 said: